Innovation

ESPCI: generating innovation and jobs

ESPCI is also known for its capacity to encourage major innovations. Did you know that as well as radium, polonium, actinium and lutecium, many other objects from our everyday lives were fi rst discovered or created at ESPCI, like the neon tube, the black box, the quartz watch, sonar, wireless technology, self-healing rubber or even ultrafast ultrasound imagery?

An entrepreneurial culture
More and more graduates create their own companies after graduation or after their PhD. This capacity to innovation is highly valued today. ESPCI courses perpetuate this strong innovation culture which stems from the people who have worked at the school, like Paul Langevin, theoretical physicist and the inventor of sonar, Pierre and Marie Curie and our contemporaries Pierre-Gilles de Gennes and Georges Charpak.
Their heritage encourages students to contribute to future technological progress through their knowledge and their innovations. ESPCI ParisTech researchers continuously anticipate industry requirements to invent viable solutions as pioneers in their fi elds. They challenge nature and materials through concrete situations inspired by industry issues. They publish more than an article a day in the best international scientific peer-reviewed journals.
This ceaseless confrontation with industrial perspectives has generated a remarkably powerful entrepreneurial culture that makes technological innovation an essential lever for commercial success.
Scientists at ESPCI ParisTech fi le one patent a week and every year create several start-ups to promote inventions and discoveries generated by their research

ESPCI and its start-ups
An average of three start-ups are created every year in every high-tech fi eld: medical imagery, therapy, telecommunications, intelligent materials, sustainable materials, etc. Some of these start-ups that generate highly qualifi ed jobs have the potential of revolutionising entire sections of French and even international industries.

• EOS Imaging (2000)
• Fluigent (2008)
• RainDance Technologies (2008)
• CDP Innovation (2008)
• Cytoo (2009)
• Inventel
• Cy-Play
• Finsécur
• TR Com (2009)
• SuperSonic Imagine
• Sensitive Object Echosens LLTech (2010)
• Capsum (2010)
• Sculpteo (2010)
• Acanthe Biotech Nexdot (2010)
• Withings (2010)
• SmartView (2011)
• Invoxia (2011)
• Winovel (2012)
• Capital Innovation Partners (2012)
• Ademtech Ulifetec (2012)
• Vision Objects
• Platod (2012)
• HiFiBio (2013)
• Biomillenia (2014)
• Microfactory (2014)
• Millidrop (2015)
• Cardiawave (2015)




ÉCOLE SUPÉRIEURE DE PHYSIQUE ET DE CHIMIE INDUSTRIELLES DE LA VILLE DE PARIS
10 Rue Vauquelin, 75005 Paris

Innovation

L’ESPCI est également connue pour sa capacité à impulser des innovations majeures. Saviez-vous que, outre le radium, le polonium, l’actinium et le lutécium, beaucoup d’objets de notre quotidien ont vu le jour à l’ESPCI comme le tube néon, la boîte noire, la montre à quartz, le sonar, la technologie de la box sans fil, le caoutchouc auto-cicatrisant ou encore l’imagerie ultrasonore ultrarapide ?

Une culture entrepreneuriale
De plus en plus de diplômés créent leur propre entreprise en sortant de l’École ou après leur doctorat. Cette capacité d’innovation est particulièrement prisée aujourd’hui par les entreprises. En cela, la formation de l’ESPCI perpétue une forte culture d’innovation qui prend ses racines avec les personnalités qui ont travaillé à l’école comme Paul Langevin, physicien théoricien et inventeur du sonar, Pierre et Marie Curie ou, plus près de nous, Pierre-Gilles de Gennes ou Georges Charpak.
Un héritage qui donne aux étudiants l’envie de contribuer eux-mêmes aux avancées technologiques du futur, par leurs connaissances et leur pratique de l’innovation.
Les chercheurs de l’ESPCI Paris n’ont de cesse d’anticiper les besoins de l’industrie pour en inventer – en pionniers – des solutions viables. Ils interrogent la nature et la matière au travers de situations concrètes inspirées de problématiques industrielles. Ils publient plus d’un article par jour dans les meilleures revues scientifiques internationales à comité de lecture.
De cette confrontation incessante aux perspectives industrielles est née une culture entrepreneuriale remarquablement puissante qui fait de l’innovation technologique le levier incontournable du succès commercial. Les scientifiques de l’ESPCI Paris déposent un brevet par semaine et fondent chaque année plusieurs start-up pour valoriser les inventions et découvertes issues de leurs recherches fécondes

Les Start-Up de l’ESPCI
Trois Start-up créées en moyenne chaque année dans tous les domaines de la haute technologie : imagerie médicale, thérapie, télécommunications, matériaux intelligents et durables, etc. Certaines de ces start-up, créatrices d’emplois très qualifiés, ont le potentiel de révolutionner des pans entiers de l’industrie française, voire mondiale.

Quelques exemples de start-up créées ces dernières années :

• EOS Imaging (2000)
• Fluigent (2008)
• RainDance Technologies (2008)
• CDP Innovation (2008)
• Cytoo (2009)
• Inventel
• Cy-Play
• Finsécur
• TR Com (2009)
• SuperSonic Imagine
• Sensitive Object Echosens LLTech (2010)
• Capsum (2010)
• Sculpteo (2010)
• Acanthe Biotech Nexdot (2010)
• Withings (2010)
• SmartView (2011)
• Invoxia (2011)
• Winovel (2012)
• Capital Innovation Partners (2012)
• Ademtech Ulifetec (2012)
• Vision Objects
• Platod (2012)
• HiFiBio (2013)
• Biomillenia (2014)
• Microfactory (2014)
• Millidrop (2015)
• Cardiawave (2015)




ÉCOLE SUPÉRIEURE DE PHYSIQUE ET DE CHIMIE INDUSTRIELLES DE LA VILLE DE PARIS
10 Rue Vauquelin, 75005 Paris